Prof Mrs AdegbehingbeWelcome to the Faculty of Clinical Sciences

I am greatly delighted to welcome you to the Faculty of Clinical Sciences, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile – Ife. The Faculty was established in 1992 when the former Faculty of Health Sciences was restructured into three Faculties with a central coordinating College of Health Sciences under the able leadership of the Provost. The Faculty consists of 11 clinical departments of Anaesthesia, Community Health, Dermatology & Venereology, Medicine, Mental Health, Obstetrics, Gynaecology & Perinatology, Orthopaedics & Traumatology, Ophthalmology,  Paediatrics & Child Health, Radiology and Surgery.
Our main thrust as a Faculty apart from service and research is in the primary provision of clinical training for medical students in their fourth to sixth years before they are formally exposed to the employment market as our ambassadors. We also produce postgraduate doctors and other health workers with sufficient management skill to play a leadership role in healthcare delivery across the globe. You can know more about us by navigating through our website and please feel free to contact me or any of the Heads of Departments on specific issues. We shall be glad to have feedback from you as you visit our site.

As you navigate through our pages i wish you a delightsome time. We hope to answer every question on your mind about us but peradventure we didn’t, please give us a call or send us an email, so that we can respond to all your needs and requests. Thank you for being with us.

Thank you.

Professor (Mrs) B. O. Adegbehingbe

The Dean
Faculty Of Clinical Sciences,O.A.U, Ile-Ife.

Our History

The Faculty Clinical Science is about 23 years old. It is one of the three Faculties in the College of health sciences. The faculty was made up of 10 clinical Department as follows: Anesthesia, Community Health, Dermatology, Obstetrics and Gynecology and Perinatology, Internal Medicine, Mental Health, Orthopedic Surgery and Traumatology, Pediatrics and Child Health, Radiology and surgery. All these departments have well developed Clinical Sub-Specialties. The faculty can boast of about 100 erudite scholars and outstanding Clinicians who are also honorary Consultants to the Obafemi Awolowo University Teaching Hospitals Complex, Ile-Ife. The Faculty is committed to the development of the college journal (Nigerian Journal of Health Sciences). Best accepted abstracts presented during the Seventh Annual Scientific Conference will be published in Journal.

Our Goals and Objectives

Faculty of Clinical Sciences is one of the three Faculties in the College of Health Sciences, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife.
The broad objectives of the programme of the Faculty are:

  • To provide a sound scientific and professional basis for production of doctors and other health workers who would be capable of working anywhere in Nigeria.
  • To provide such training that would equip the health personnel to provide primary health care (PHC). The curriculum, as run by various departments, is orientated to greater emphasis to primary health care.
  • To produce doctors who would satisfy internationally recognized standards, and who could undertake further training towards specialization.
  • To produce doctors and other health workers with sufficient management skill for an effective leadership role in the healthcare delivery system.

Our Faculty Admission

Students are admitted into the Faculty after training in the basic medical sciences of Anatomy, Biochemistry and Physiology at the Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences.The Faculty runs the clinical years in Parts IV, V and VI (400, 500 and 600 levels), of the six-year MB.Ch.B. programme for undergraduate medical students.

Our Sub-discipline/discipline

The Faculty of Clinical Sciences has an Academic Board consisting of the Dean, Vice Dean, Heads of Departments in the Faculty and full-time teachers of the various clinical disciplines.  The primary function of this body is to monitor progress in the execution of the various aspects of the MBChB Programme.  They also offer solutions to problems where necessary and many times assist the Dean and Heads of Departments in an advisory capacity.

about_2Our Departments

Department of Anaesthesia
Department of Community Health
Department of Dermatology and Venereology
Department of Medicine
Department of Mental Health
Department of Obstetrics, Gynaecology and Perinatology
Department of Orthopaedics and Traumatology
Department of Paediatrics and Child Health
Department of Radiology
Department of Surgery